The Port Melbourne Football Club was founded in 1874. In 1886, the Club was admitted to the Victorian Football Association (now the Victorian Football League) making it one of the oldest and most famous football Clubs in Australia. Port Melbourne has been the only Club to participate in every VFA / VFL season since then.

During the last 115 years, Port Melbourne has won the most premierships (15), played in the most Grand Finals (32) as well as contesting the most VFA / VFL finals series. As an indication of our success, Port Melbourne has played in 62 final series out of a possible 111, a remarkable achievement over such a long period of time.

Many great players have played for, or coached Port Melbourne over its proud history. The list is exhaustive but includes names like triple Brownlow Medallist Bob Skilton, Ron Barassi, Tom Lahiff, “Mopsy” Fraser, Frank Johnson, Peter Bedford, the Goss brothers, Fred Cook, Damien Drum and more recently, David King. These are only several of the players that have made Port Melbourne the legend and the power in the VFL that it is today.

Success for the Club has not only been attributable to our on field achievements. The likes of Norm Goss Senior, Jack “Darky” McFarlane and Peter Saultry in their roles as officials and administrators of the Club also contributed largely to this success. Under the leadership of these persons, the Club enjoyed its most successful era, both on the field and financially.

In season 2000, the VFL competition underwent a major restructure. As a result of that restructure, the VFL again became the leading Australian Rules competition outside of the AFL. Port Melbourne Football Club formed an alignment with the Sydney Swans in season 2000. The arrangement between Port Melbourne and the Swans continues today and both Clubs look forward to a long, harmonious and successful relationship.

The history of the Port Melbourne Football Club is a remarkable achievement in Australian Rules football. Although proud of our past history, the Club will continue to strive for success and looks forward to creating an even more remarkable and successful history over the next 115 years.

Michael O’Grady

Excerpts taken from “A Taste of Port”, Author Terry Keenan


1897 1901 1922 1940 1941 1947 1953 1964 1966 1974 1976
Centenary Premiership 1977 1980 1981 1982

Runners Up

1902 1923 1925 1928 1929 1945 1950 1951 1952 1954 1955
1956 1957 1965 1967 1987 1993

Games Record Holder : Fred Cook 253
Goals Record Holder :  Fred Cook 1238
JJ Liston Medallists  :E. Hyde 1930, W. Findlay 1946, F. Johnson 1952, V. Aanensen 1979 & 1981, S. Allender 1980, W.Swan 1982 & 1983, S.Harkins 1990.